Wednesday, July 26, 2006

All Come Crashing Down

It's when you're alone that your mind tends to think too much. Sometimes, when you are in the company of friends and family, your problems tend to be placed at the very back of your head.

And when you are finally alone, all the problems start rushing inside your head and mess with you.

I really admire people who live alone. I admire people more when they say they live alone but they aren't lonely.

Sometimes, I am in the company of other people and I feel alone.

Don't you feel that sometimes, too?

Tuesday, July 25, 2006

A One-of-a-Kind Love

One of the worst fears (if not the worst) of a parent is to outlive their child. It completely goes against the natural law of man. We (usually) follow the FIFO system. It's just plain wrong to have the child pass away before the parents.

This entry is for parents who have lost their child. I know we will never know how God works. And we will never understand it either. Do not blame yourselves for your shortcomings. Regret will not bring your child back. Instead, grieve and then slowly let go of your pain... but never the love you have for your child. Do not keep death in your heart for it will heavily weigh on your heart and soul. Instead, keep in your heart the memories you shared with your child. Let it bring smiles rather than tears.

Despite the tragedy you went through, do not forget about the people who are always beside you. You are not alone in this challenge God gave you. I know that something like this can shatter your faith...be steadfast. Sometimes, God gives you the worst hardships and pains to make you stronger.

Monday, July 24, 2006

Believing in an Absolute

I have always believed that we make our own destiny. But I also believe in a higher being. The space that fills up what our finiteness can never reach.

I was brought up by very Catholic parents. I have always believed in God but never really got the chance to understand Him. I grew up believing that anything that happens for a reason I can never understand is part of God's plan.

That was until it got in the way of my MYOD (mind-your-own-destiny). As we get older, we want to have more control. We want to make action and take part. That's human nature, I guess. That's why I keep hearing adults say that life was much easier when we're young. That's because the more we yearn for control over our lives, the more complicated life gets. And sometimes, when we don't get things done our way, we blame God for every single mistake that happens in our lives.

Take me for example. There was a time that I really wanted something. Of course, I did all the do-able with high caliber, prepared for every single contingency until plan ZZ. The whole time, I also prayed. There's nothing wrong with getting help from above, even if it was more of a spiritual blessing. But in the end, it was all for nothing. I was a short, single step away from what I really wanted.

And it hit me. Really bad.

I was the poster child for ultimate depression.

Anyway, it's weird looking back at it from such a distance (space and time). Sometimes, I thought I overreacted but at that time, I thought it was the perfect thing to do. I'm wondering how Einstein nailed the theory of relativity so precisely to my situation. There's no point in looking back all the time and moping around.

Right now, I've been thinking that believing in an absolute and having a MYOD is possible. Without believing in an absolute is like walking in the dark. Of course, you'd want to MYOD with some light in your paths. It's still up to you to go where. And I'd like to think that God intervenes with our poorly made choices by diminishing the light in that path. If He thinks that path is not right for you, He closes it. But other paths remain. And sometimes, God just diminishes the light in the path that we want to take. And we get angry and frustrated. We are blinded by our rage that we forget other paths that can equally take us to that same end goal: being happy. And sometimes we are just too stubborn to believe that. Sometimes, we just head out in the dark. To the unknown. And then we get into trouble. Without the light, it's hard finding our way back. It's dark, we (think) are all alone. But never forget for a second that God abandoned us. He is there. He is called Hope.

Thursday, July 20, 2006

1x1 ID Pictures

The other night, I was able to look at the list of laborers who were involved in the renovation of the house. It was a request to get temporary IDs so they can get inside the village without having to notify us or their employers. There was the standard information sheet and the ID cards to be filled with their signatures.

Both sheets have a space for 1x1 ID pictures. I scanned the information sheets and was troubled to see that most of the ID-sized pictures that they pasted there were cut out from pictures.
It saddened me that those people didn't even have enough money to afford having their pictures taken. I imagine their photo albums, laden with pictures of family events and what not. I imagine them in the photographs, but instead of their happy faces, blank boxes stood where their faces should have been.

I imagined college... at the start of each semester, teachers would ask for our 1x1 ID pictures for their index cards. At that time, I would just go to any photo studio to have my picture taken, wait for about 30 minutes and get them. I just dig in my jeans pocket for some change from my lunch that day to pay for it and be off my way. Sometimes, I just dismiss this expense and continue on with my life. The next semester, I have my picture taken again, without knowing that I still have extra 1x1s from the last semester.

Instead of a solid colored background, I saw a window from their [I'm guessing] house, trees, the blue sky... but what struck me the most was that there was this particular laborer who used his wedding picture!

I could not believe it. It drove me to tears.

The veil of his wife-to-be was beside him. It looked like it was taken during the ceremony and this laborer wasn't looking at the camera. There were hands on his shoulder-- I was guessing it was the cord ceremony thing. I think that something as important and as a wedding picture should not be tampered! Diba? But this poor man did not have enough money to have his picture taken for 1x1s...

My mom told me that the association just throws the information sheets after the renovation is complete. Grabe, naawa talaga ako. I then asked mom to get back the pictures so that the laborers would use them again for another project.
I felt so bad and I felt so affected about the whole thing. I regret the fact that I'm only understanding the *true* value of money now that I am working for it. Of course, my mom would tell us about the importance of saving for the rainy day but the fact that I am working created a deeper impact on me.

Between working and studying, I'd rather study. Because when I need 1x1 ID pictures, I just have to ask my parents for money and not worry how the hell I'm going to get money to pay for even my basic necessities.

Monday, July 17, 2006

Going Back...

Balik trabaho na naman. It's a beautiful Monday morning and I went to the office with a weird experience. While driving along EDSA, there was this guy on a motorcyle that was staring at me/my windshield. My first thought was, "Do I have a flat tire?" I know that my wheels are fine since I checked them before I left. Then, na-realize ko that the guy was openly and unashamedly staring at me. *3@~(!#&^%! Ano ba yun?

Then he moves on to the next car and stares at the girl driver. Ok, weird pervert with weird morning traffic habits!

Last week, Tita Nene came home from Seattle. I was so excited kasi I really haven't seen her in a long, long time. It was too bad that she will be staying with my cousins in Mandaluyong. The original plan was to have her over and stay in our guest room. Pero....syempre hindi pa tapos yung bahay. I had been planning to spend quality time with her.

Actually, it was a crusty Saturday morning that I saw her. I was in my pajamas and rubbing my eyes open. My hair was a mess and I haven't brushed my teeth. I got out and saw her. Sabi niya pumayat ako. wahoo! Suddenly, it felt like I was back in time. The nostalgia was overwhelming. Tita Nene used to be my part-time nanny when I was little. So alam niya lahat ng mga ginawa ko nung bata ako.

That Saturday evening, we had dinner at Jerry's Grill. I ate a lot that night! Mom was on the other side of the table at gusto niya ako batukan dahil sobrang dami ang nakain ko. I was also able to taste kuhol for the first time. The taste was weird. There was also this crunchy-slash-maligat texture...

That weekend, I caught up on all the TV shows I missed during the week. Always, it was either I was too tired to watch them or I was still in the office. Buti na lang they replay them on weekends! Yesterday, I started on Season 2 of One Tree Hill. Woohoo! The plot's nice naman.
Next weekend naman, Dad will go home for 2 days ata to meet up with Tita Nene in Bacolod. It's a reunion!

Tuesday, July 11, 2006

The Rundown

I'm too tired na to edit this post so I'm typing this quickly, update my blog and go to sleep.

Things are going ok this week at work. I'm trying very hard to keep up because I missed a lot of things already. Anyway, despite the ok salary, I still believe that the company is still getting profits because I assure you... they make you work every damn centavo!!! But it's still fun. I've made new friends and have reaffirmed friendships to people I wasn't really close to.

I'm thankful parking in Ortigas uses a flat rate scheme. If I worked in Makati, I would have commuted nalang. My salary would always end up in parking and gas (Makati has the most heavy traffic flow than any other metropolitan in the country). Yun nga lang, I walk around 800 meters [naks! measured talaga] to get to the office. Besides the cardio-vascular training, I also get weights, thanks to my laptop and accessories. It's nice work out in the mornings. Especially with high-heels!

Despite the freedom of flexitime, I would prefer to go to work early in the morning so I can leave early and go window-shopping [for the meantime, while I still haven't received my paycheck] before going home.

I'm now regretting [partially] why I haven't listened attentively to my Globelines guru and CIO I-am-thinking-not-sleeping mentor.

I'm loving the unlimited supply of coffee, though I would want to brush my teeth after every cup.

Yun lang naman. I don't wanna go into detail. Very damn sleepy!

Saturday, July 08, 2006

It's When I'm Weak that I'm Strong

The feeling that I have right now is somewhat the same whenever first day of class would begin on Monday. And it's the Grade School kind! I get to smell the newly covered books [plastic is so addicting], my newly sharpened pencils, my new school bag, my pristine pad papers [in every size imaginable!]... not to mention my new school shoes, socks, even my hair clips.

Grade school for me gave me weird feelings. I would groan whenever mom wakes me up, singing a song about Suzie being woken up too... but at the back of my head, I'm starting to feel that giddy rush of going to school, meeting my classmates and friends, greeting my teachers [I adored them all], turning in perfect assignments and being prepared for surprise quizzes or seatworks.

Yes, I was a bit of a geek and nerd in grade school. It was that time in my childhood that I wanted to grasp everything. Learn a lot about everything and spare no topic! My parents didn't have any problem with me in my studies those days because they saw naman that I enjoyed going to school.

Anyway, back to my original post....

This feeling that I had in grade school is coming my way again. After all, I'm very excited about my work. I just couldn't believe it. I'm working na! I once thought that seeing myself as a laborer would be a thousand years pa. I would never have thought that a thousand years would pass by so quickly. I'm very glad that the company that I'm going to work for is in line with the career that I want to have. I made it very clear naman to my family what industry I'm tackling when I graduate.

I'm thanking my stars that I made enough of an impression to this company that they decide to adopt me. There was a time that I was a slacker in college but I guess most of the time I've been doing my best. Sabi nga ni mom, kung hindi ako nag-taekwondo, mas mataas siguro grades ko. Siguro nga. But I can't live without sports kasi...taekwondo or tennis.

This long and indefinite vacation is almost nearing its end and I can't say I'm sad to leave this routine-less routine. I'm gonna miss my quality time with my mom. Quality time with my laptop. Quality time with my DVDs. The occasional trips to the malls and even arcades! But you know, months and months of nothingness can really make you feel worthless...at least for me. It can be stressing at times, not knowing what to do with your day. So right now, I'm glad I'm going to face deadlines, bloodrush and excitement... and nothing better to top it off with than the love for my job.

Anyway, all I'm saying is that this weekend is the last weekend as a professional bum. I think I made the most of it. It's not like I'll be doing this in a while again [I hope!]. I've been listening to 80's songs lately, reminiscing my childhood, remembering snippets and writing it down in my notebook. I then realize that while some memories are vivid or vague, I get memories I've never had whenever I go to a place I've been to; touched something I've touched before; smelled something I've smelled before; listened to a song I've listened to before... in my dreams or in my childhood. It was nostalgia... it was serendipity.

At the end of this weekend, another chapter of my life closes. My childhood is finally coming to a curtain call. Two decades of memories rush back to my head and I sometimes feel tears creep at the back of my eyes. Memories I cherished, wished I'd forgotten. Memories I wanna do all over again and memories I wanna change if I have the power to go back in time.

Looking back, I think I did ok. The fun, laughter, punishments, heartaches, infatuations, pains... I accept them all because I can never be the person that I am without all of them...

I give myself a pat on my back and say, "Good job, Karen. Good job."

My life, it wasn't so bad after all!

Friday, July 07, 2006

Surprises and Quirks

Ngayong araw, huli akong nagising at nakapunta sa Makati na walang dalang lisensya. Buti nalang may spare ako sa glove compartment. Nagmamadali ako kanina papuntang RSC para ibigay ang mga requirements for employment. Malakas ang hangin at nangangamba akong na baka umulan. Kahit may dala akong payong, sa lakas ng hangin, baka mapahiya lang ako sa daan.

Sinabihan ako ng HR na kailangan kong pumunta sa Orientation ng HR sa July 17. Sabi ko naman sa kanila kaya minadali yung application ko e dahil pupunta ako sa Japan sa July 17. Humirit yung HR na kailangan kong pumunta. Inisip ko na hindi ko na dapat iyon problema. Sa huli, nag-usap kami na sa August 1 nalang ako pumunta.

Dumaan ako sa Enterprise at nagpakuha ng litrato para sa Japanese Visa ko. Pagkatapos ay nagmadali papuntang Ortigas naman. Buti nalang, wala namang nangyaring kababalaghan kaya nagsadya na ako kagad sa HP.

Andun naman yung dapat kong bibigyan ng Passport, Visa Application at SSS form. Pina-receive ko kay Arnold yung passport kasi malaki talagang problema kapag nawala iyon. Pumasok ako sa loob kasama si Gracie at tinapos ko yung mga kailangan pang dokumento. Sa mga sandaling iyon, narinig kong sinabi ni Bev na hindi siya makakasama dahil hindi pa kailangan ang kanyang papel sa proyekto. Napatigil ako kasi pareho kami ni Bev na sa Total Order Management.

Nakita kong dumaan si Cel at tinanong ko siya kung ano ang aking papel sa proyekto. Nabanggit ko rin na hindi kasama si Bev, na ka-division ko. Sabi ni Cel na malamang pareho ang aming papel ni Bev. Nalungkot ako sandali dahil may posibilidad na hindi ako makakasama. Sa ideya pa lang na bago pa lang ako sa trabaho ay maging isang katwiran na hindi ako payagan pumunta.

Sabi naman ni Gracie, habang kami ay kumain ng tanghalian na marami pang pagkakataon na makapunta pa akong Japan [shet! para akong Japayuki nito!] dahil Japan-based yung proyekto. Iniisip siguro ng mga nakatataas na mas mabuti pang dito muna ako sa Manila at simulan ang aking on-boarding, orientation at training.

Gusto ko pa rin isipin na makaka-biyahe pa rin ako.

Nagliwaliw muna ako sa Megamall. Sale na naman at kailangan ko ng damit pang-opisina. Sa katunayan, ang suot kong blusa ay sa nanay ko. Nakita ko rin sa malayo na sale ang Lacoste at gusto ko lang malaman kung ilang % yung discount ng mga mamahaling t-shirt. Sa kagustuhan kong makapunta kagad, nabigla ako nang may sumulpot sa aking gilid at sinabi:

"Hi Ganda! Gusto mo ng libreng tiket sa sinehan?"

Sa mga sandaling iyon, hindi ko alam kung yung naging magic words na nag-convince sa akin na sumama sa tiyak na kahibangan ay yung "ganda" o "libreng tiket". Oo nga, kahit wala akong kailangan bayaran o bilhan, kailangan kong mag-aksaya ng 45 na minuto para sa kanilang presentasyon. Sa huli, nag back out ako, humirit ng isang dahilan para makaalis sa lugar na iyon.

Matagal na akong hindi pumapatol sa mga nag-aalok ng lupa, bahay, condo, credit card ngunit dito talaga ako bumigay. Akala ko libre. Yun pala, oras mo ang puhunan nila. Sa huli, hindi ako nakapunta sa Lacoste at hindi ko nakita kung magkano yung mga t-shirts nila.

Shet!

Thursday, July 06, 2006

Cutthroat Business

Mom told me that the jobhunting process [or lack of it] used to be simple compared to what people do nowadays. She didn't even recall going from one building to another to give our her resumes like pamphlets. There's also the fact that there is no bias against non-UP, Ateneo, La Salle.

Anyway, this week was not boring. Compared to the previous weeks and days I spent. I was such a sloth! Not to mention a bit depressed when I have a vague picture of my future. I started the week when I went to HP to sign my offer letter. That morning, Cel sent me an SMS and asked if I can make it this afternoon. Excited, I bullied my mom so she could give the car to me. After all, it was a matter of life and death!

After she gave me a primer of my benefits, etc., she told me to join the other new hires who were having an orientation. I went to Manila [the name of the conf. room] and sat with them, watching the history of HP and then introducing ourselves. We also met our bosses and managers and were taken around the offices and introduced to our now-fellow employees.

We had merienda and I met new friends, Anna, Desiree, Cha and Kristel. After the on-boarding session, we met with our managers and were introduced to our fellow teammates. Gracie and Jopaw introduced their new found friends with me... though I weakly told them I couldn't memorize their names at once.

The next day, I went to HP at Robinsons Summit Center in Makati. Before that, I surprised Kris on the underpass. She was on her way to Enterprise and I was "crossing the street" underground. I met with the HR person, Josie, and gave me a list of requirements before employment. At that time, there was confusion because my manager wanted me to start on July 10 but the HR policy is that they hire on the 1st of 17th of the month. Cel was working my start date and my worry was to finish all requirements before the end of the week.

Wednesday was the worst, I think. I woke up very early to bring my sister to school and then mom and I went to city hall to get a TIN for me. Yesterday, we found out that the TIN I have can only be used for government transactions. We then found out that they don't issue TINs in city hall. Mom and I went to Coastal Mall to get 2 measly pieces of paper. That afternoon, I went to Makati to get a medical... I swear, it was embarrassingly thorough. I felt so violated talaga....huhuhu... Thank God I didn't have to go to Ortigas!

Today, I felt like a bum again. With no car available, I decided to spend the day watching DVDs. I need to catch up on One Tree Hill and Smallville. I'll bet Inca's wondering when I'll return the DVDs to her. But then again, it was interrupted by a brownout that lasted from late morning to mid-afternoon. I spent the day testing Pagong's stamina and reading unopened TIME magazines. Mom then came home and gave me copies of her and dad's birth certificates and then fixed the requirements so I can submit them to HR tomorrow.

I'm also filling up application forms for VISA for my trip to Japan by mid-July. I need to have my picture taken and then bring them to Ortigas to have them processed immediately. Right now, everything's fast-paced. I love it! God, I missed college! Anyway, I'm glad that I'm finally on my way to Japan. The first time was depressing when I found out I didn't make the cut for the scholarship [parang reality show!]. But I guess when there's a will, there's a way! Even if it's a business trip, I look forward to it. I'm so excited already!

Wednesday, July 05, 2006

On to Berlin!

I could not believe what happened during the FIFA World Cup semis between Germany and Italy. Clearly, the favor was with the host country but Italy had great defense. They had to go through extra time and in the end, I thought penalty kicks would end the heart-pumping match. Well, you have to admit there were parts when everything was just boring.

Despite Lehmann's excellent skill as goalkeeper, Italy was able to sneak in 2 well-placed goals within 2+ minutes with seconds to spare during extra time. I guess Germany was so pressured to keep up with the first goal that they left a critical hole in their defense. Del Piero just appeared from nowhere and sank the ball in the upper right corner of the goal. It's Berlin for the Italians! I can't help but feel sad for the German crowd. I mean, they started holding their heads in dismay as soon as Italy scored and when they got another one, faces fell and I saw tears.

Sayang, Germany was a favorite pa naman.

Not many people know that I like soccer. I'm not an avid fan but I try to keep myself updated. In this case, I don't watch the qualifying matches as well as the early rounds. I keep tabs as early as quarterfinals, and that still depends on the teams playing.

^_^ Man, I miss sports!

Tuesday, July 04, 2006

We all use Math Everyday!

I am so in love with Charlie Eppes! Yep, this genius mathematician has captured my heart with his tousled locks and kick-ass math skills. Played by David Krumholtz, this is the only character with curly hair that I like. I'm usually a "straight-haired, short-length, neatly combed guy hair" type of girl. This one is an exception. Oh yeah, might I add that his FBI Consultant with NSA clearance likes rock music?


I'm so hooked with Numb3rs. Maybe because my brain activity has been less than zero these past few weeks that I'm dying to get my cells and neurons into action. I couldn't get enough of AXN's weekly schedule so I decided to just buy season2. Ha! And what a bargain it was! I don't think I'll stop watching this show just yet.

His brother Don, played by Rob Morrow looks like Mulder from X-Files. ^_^

I love them! I love them!

I love Charlie more!!!